4 – Film Director

My chosen director is Stanley Kubrick, therefore I have chosen to create a short film in AfterEffects. I began by creating an image of the hotel carpet in the iconic film, “The Shining”. Using Illustrator, I traced around the shapes in a screenshot of the film to form my main image.

I decided that this imagery would link best to my point about using shapes to form typefaces- the animation zooms into one of the hexagons in the carpet’s pattern, where my text fades in. A ‘Z’ then appears in the hexagon, showing that at least one letter can be formed by altering this shape. I utilised tools such as rotation, scale and opacity to achieve the desired effect. Finally, I added the music from the opening sequence of the 80s classic film to finish the video.

I believe this is a strong response as it demonstrated the point I am making as well as linking visually.

Leave a Reply

